A-Z Databases

Provides extensive news coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. Features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, and offers searchable news video clips and over two thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.

Brings together highly ranked global and scholarly journals with key resources for locating quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.
Contains content from Banking Information Database.

Electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Société des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels.

Database of articles relevant to aeronautics, astronautics, communications, computer and information technology, electronics, lasers, solid-state materials and devices, space sciences, and telecommunications. Source types include scholarly journals, trade journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newspapers, and more. Content dates from 1962 - present.

Provides access to U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.

Diverse periodicals - which have shaped, and in turn been shaped by, African American culture - will enable new discoveries on lives of African Americans as individuals, as an ethnic group and as Americans.

Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Created from the Library Company’s acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection - an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history - this unique online resource will provide researchers with more than 12,000 printed works.

Includes ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management); EIS (Environmental Impact Statements); TOXLINE; and AGRICOLA (a comprehensive agricultural research database from the USDA -- ProQuest's version of AGRICOLA provides convenient links to DU's full-text subscriptions when available). Sources include scholarly journals, trade journals, newspapers and magazines, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications.

Amateur Newspapers were a genre of 19th century newspapers, written and published mainly by juvenile enthusiasts for the goal of publishing, not profiting.

(Access Provided by University of Denver)

Offers early American books, pamphlets, broadsides and rare printed materials, illuminating centuries of American history, literature, culture and daily life.

(Access Provided by University of Denver)

Thousands of titles chronicle centuries of American history, culture and daily life. Includes titles from all 50 present states. This database provides access to digitized versions of primary source material.

(Access Provided by University of Denver)

Full text from such popular magazines as Time, Newsweek, U.S. News & World Report, People Weekly, Fortune, Money, Sports Illustrated, and many others.

(Access provided by Univserity of Denver)

The American Archive of Public Broadcasting has over 7,000 historic public radio and television programs available to stream in addition to approximately 2.6 million items inventoried by public broadcasting stations.

Based on the American Antiquarian Society’s landmark collection of American broadsides and ephemera, this full-color digital edition offers fully searchable facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1749 and 1900.

(Access Provided by University of Denver)

Historical newspapers covering agriculture, agricultural technology, and economics of farming published between 1788 through 1894.

(Access Provided by University of Denver)

Historical newspapers covering business, industry, and international trade published between 1783 through 1900.

Featuring more than 13,500 works published between 1860 and 1922, this fully searchable collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath.

Contains more than 1,500 dramatic works from the colonial period to the beginning of the twentieth century.

Contains more than 17,800 titles and encompasses prose fiction written by Americans from colonial times to the early twentieth century.

A national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Cataloging currently covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onward.

Historical newspapers containing official announcements, transaction records, legal decisions, and business notices published between 1796 through 1884.

Enables researchers to investigate Jewish immigration, genealogy, history and so much more.

American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century.

(Access Provided by University of Denver)

Enables researchers to investigate Jewish immigration, genealogy, history and so much more.

Features various newsletters, magazines, and journals published within the ALA, sorted by title, including those which are only available over the Internet.

A biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological and related sciences.

Open access database of AMNH Scientific Publications, AMNH scholarly output and other original and published materials digitized by the Library.

These rare items addressing slavery, suffrage and dozens of other divisive issues include speeches, orations, debates, sermons, treatises, tracts, narratives, poems, songs, memoirs, announcements, legal notices and more.

Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

Contains over 40,000 poems by more than 200 poets, covering the Colonial period to the early twentieth century, and drawn from over 1,200 printed sources.

Presidential and regional campaign coverage from historical newspapers published between 1803 through 1876.

Reports, publications, and news broadcasts covering America's fight for racial justice, with firsthand analysis of race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia.

Historical newspapers covering religious news and the role religion played in American life and society published between 1799 through 1900.

Slavery and abolition materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.

Enables students and scholars to easily search and browse legislative and executive documents of the first 14 U.S. Congresses.

Delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more.

A year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. A valuable source of contemporary opinion, historical context and biographical information for the historian.

An online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists.

Translated news broadcasts and publications on the international reaction to apartheid throughout the African continent and from around the world.

Designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education.

Streaming video from newsreels and archives

A current directory which describes collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

ArchiveGrid provides records for over five million archival resources, including historical documents, personal papers, and family histories from over 1,000 different archival institutions.

From the Smithsonian, history of visual art in America

An archive of digitized primary documents focus on the history of Latin America and the Caribbean back to the early 1800s through the contemporary period sourced from collections in the U.S. and abroad. (Formerly known as World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean)

Collections spanning from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990, focusing on gender and LGBTQ studies, women's studies, American studies, civil and human rights, journalism, social movement history, and British twentieth-century history.

Part of ProQuest Central, this resource contains information about the visual and applied arts. Subject strengths include design, classical studies, anthropology, architecture, history, languages and literatures, and cultural studies.

A major research resource comprising the digitized backfiles of many of the foremost art and architecture magazines of the twentieth century. Offering unprecedented access to the archives of key consumer and trade publications, it is a unique collection of the essential primary sources for studying the history of these subjects.

Focuses on business and financial news from the eastern hemisphere. It covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications.
Includes European Business Database.

History of the Associated Press. Contains the Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive.

Gives today's researchers a vivid, first-hand account of one of the most turbulent periods in American history: post-Civil War reconstruction.

Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Free audio books and poetry featuring digital recordings and MP3's from the Naropa Poetics Audio Archive, LibriVox, Project Gutenberg, Maria Lectrix, and Internet Archive users.

Provides researchers with unique insights into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of Texas, as well as the southwest U.S. from the late 19th through the 20th century.

Part of ProQuest Central, this resource includes ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in Australia and New Zealand. Major subject areas of study include business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Represented the bustling port city of Baltimore by reporting on pivotal issues and events of the 19th and early 20th centuries: immigration, the slave trade, commerce, the Civil War, and Washington D.C. politics.

Digitized newspaper of Barron's national business and financial weekly. View the page, not just the article.

The work of Bertolt Brecht (1898-1956) holds up a mirror to the literary and political tumult of the twentieth century. A collection of Brecht's works and writings in six volumes with brief notes on each text.

Contains twenty versions of the Bible. In addition to the twelve complete Bibles, there are five New Testament works, two Gospel works and William Tyndale's New Testament, Pentateuch and Jonah translations.

Presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves.

A living collection of books, articles, documentaries, series, podcasts and more about the Black origins of traditional and popular music dating from the 18th century to present day.

Provides continuous newspaper runs of vital primary source materials essential for the study of U.S. history, African-American history, culture, politics, genealogy, the arts, media, and communications.

The devastating 1872 Boston fire. The suspenseful 1893 Lizzie Borden ax murder trial. The catastrophic 1919 police strike. Mid-20th-century decline and renewal. These dramatic stories as well as accounts of everyday life in historical New England await your online researchers in the digitized pages of The Boston Globe (1872-1979).

From the Oliveira Lima Library, Manoel de Oliveira Lima's travels in Europe and the Americas afforded him privileged access to dealers in books, manuscripts, works of art, and other materials for the study of Brazil, Portugal, and the Ibero-American world.

More than 160 regional and local newspapers, held by the British Library, published in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries.

Facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.

Features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores. These rare documents, many of them never before available, were sourced from the British Library and other renowned institutions, and curated by experts in British arts history.

Part of ProQuest Central, this database contains company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from three sources, including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.

An ideal source for anyone interested in current events, business, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada.

Includes the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features.

Containing more than 19,000 poems by 177 poets drawn from over 700 printed sources, many of them rare and inaccessible outside Canada, the collection comprises essentially the complete canon of English-language Canadian poetry from the seventeenth century up to the early twentieth.

Includes over 140 Caribbean newspapers published in the 18th and 19th centuries from 22 countries. Essential for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, and New World slavery.

A privately held archive of approximately 30,000 sixteenth and seventeenth-century manuscripts, consisting principally of the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley (1520-1598) and his son Robert, the 1st Earl of Salisbury (1563-1612).

Contains over 90 years of high level analysis and research on global trends and key events and issues, this searchable online archive brings international affairs knowledge and expertise directly to you.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

When first incorporated, Chicago was a swampy little town populated only by a few hundred people. Soon after, the historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1989) began chronicling the city's challenges, achievements, and evolution into one of America's finest cities.

Gain insight into Chinese political and social life during the turbulent 120 year period from 1832 to 1953 with 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers.

After being provoked by Joseph Pulitzer's New York World newspaper for her unconventional religious ideas, 87-year-old Mary Baker Eddy founded The Christian Science Monitor.

Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

This primary source collection of U.S. congressional publications spans challenges of civil rights such as freed slaves, and women’s suffrage.

Reports, publications, and news broadcasts offering firsthand analysis, descriptions, and viewpoints of every facet of the Cold War.

Provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.

Published by the Communist Party USA (CPUSA), these newspapers cover workers' rights, communist party activities, social issues, and politics for the years 1917-2013.

The official record of the proceedings, debates, and activities of Congress. Although the Record contains a substantially verbatim account of the proceedings and debate, it also contains extensive inserted materials, communications from the President and executive agencies, memorials, and petitions.

Covers an enormous range of subjects of value from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.

A broad history of crime in the long 19th century derived from French, German, Spanish, Australian, British and U.S. sources. The collection includes trial transcripts, court proceedings, police and forensic documents, photographs, true crime literature and detective novels, and newspaper account

CJA indexes more than 550 national and international journals, covering subject areas including criminology, criminal justice, criminal law and procedure, corrections and prisons, police and policing, criminal investigation, forensic sciences and investigation, history of crime, substance abuse and addiction, probation, and parole.

Part of the Social Science Premium Collection, this collection supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as law enforcement and security services. It includes the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database, with further index and full-text coverage of scholarly journals. It also includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other relevant material for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, and related fields.

A data set comprised of more than 200 years of annual data from 1815 onward for over 200 countries.

Published its first edition before Michigan entered statehood and when wild animals outnumbered the people living in the city. Its editor assigned a writer to walk the waterfront and record the shipping news each day, creating the first news "beat."

The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text, an essential electronic reference for all scholars of Old and Middle English.

An online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.

There are over 10,000 free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in this directory, and 6,021 journals are searchable at article level. Over a Million articles are indexed in the service.

This collection is designed to help users understand today’s versions of populism, American nationalism, and the Alt-right. The collection includes local, regional, and national newspapers published by Ku Klux Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. from 1921-1932. It also includes the voices from several anti-Klan newspapers of the period.

Features primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office, shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the twentieth century. Access contemporary accounts and follow the detailed exchanges that shaped British foreign policy from the origins of the First World War and beyond.

A collection of North American Indigenous Peoples music and information. 
"The music is provided here as a reference for other singers, researchers, and the general public to enjoy. It is not offered as music to be downloaded or shared, but only accessed for these reasons. The music in this library comes from a variety of sources including private and published recordings."

Provides electronic texts of a well-defined and comprehensive corpus of early American fiction.

17th- and 18th-century collection of books, pamphlets and broadsides published in America.

Provides scholars with new ways of accessing and exploring the printed record of early modern Europe, drawing together a diverse array of printed sources from the fifteenth, sixteenth, and seventeenth centuries.

Part of ProQuest Central, this database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in East European and Central European countries. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Since its first publication in 1843, The Economist has presented timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive appraisal of global news every week. Because of its global perspective and economic and political analysis, it is highly regarded and heavily relied on by the world's political and business leaders, opinion-formers and decision-makers.

The Economist Intelligence Unit has published Country Reports since 1952, covering almost 200 countries. Each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form. It is a unique archive of analysis and explanation of political, economic and commercial developments, together with historical statistical data.

Part of the Social Science Premium Collection, this collection provides access to ERIC, the leading index for education research, in combination with the full- text Education Database. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and working papers.

Use this database to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. Full-text searching of millions of pages allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Contains over 160,000 poems, essentially comprising the complete canon of English poetry of the British Isles from the 8th century to around 1900. Drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources, more than 1,250 poets are represented.

Redefines the English poetic canon for the 21st century, building on the achievement of the original English Poetry collection with the addition of more than 20,000 poems from several new categories.

Provides coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history; with an emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.

Provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content. Available as two resources: Ethnic NewsWatch, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which is an historical collection.

A collection of European Union legislation and case law, as well as the decisional procedures between the Commission and the other institutions.

Working with European archives, museums, and libraries, this resource provides access to over 50 million digitized items – books, music, artworks and more.

A complete annotated bibliography and full-text of all Executive Branch Documents listed in the Checklist of Public Documents, 1789-1909, indexed by subjects, names, agency report numbers, and SuDocs Classification.

Crucial to understanding many policy, process, and legal issues, Executive Orders are the formal means by which the President of the United States executes a wide range of actions related to the Federal Government’s internal operations and organization, as well as foreign and domestic policies.

Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages.

From Films on Demand, feature films with educational licenses.

Features publications and working papers of interest to policymakers, academics, business and banking professionals, and the general public.

Provides industry profiles within the wide range of industries that fall under Construction and Real Estate; Public Services, Education, Recreation; Retail, Food and Agriculture; Services; Manufacturing; Technology and Communications; Transportation, Energy, Storage; and Wholesale. 

Note: Subscription allows five simultaneous users.

The films on Folkstreams were produced by independent filmmakers. These documentaries focus on the culture, struggles, and arts of unnoticed Americans from many different kinds of communities.

The United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence for more than half a century.

The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research is a project by the Research Division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis to expand on its mission to provide economic information and data to researchers interested in the U.S. economy.

Gale's Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references over 152,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 202,000 titles into one source.

Cross-search over 10 million pages of historic newspapers using a single interface. Discover content from the 17th to the 21st Century, browse newspapers by title and by place of publication and perform full-text searches with hit-term highlighting.

In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.

Part of ProQuest Central, this resource provides timely access to newswire content available globally as well as growing archive of news that may not be captured in any of the traditional print sources.

Contains Goethes works from the Weimer expenditure, which were originally published from 1887-1919 by Hermann Boehlau (and successors) under the patronage of the Grand Duchess Sophie of Saxonia. Supplemented by letters and other material discovered after the Weimer expediture.